Baked Maple Glazed Sweet Potato Doughnuts

IMG_0314

It’s no secret that last night was the epic season finale of The Walking Dead.  I’m not entirely sure how I’m going to survive the Sunday night blues for the next seven months, but that’s a therapy session for another day.  Daryl is still alive and I think we can all agree that that’s the most important thing.

Hubs went to the Rangers game in the afternoon, so to curb my anxiety about who was going to make it out of the finale alive, I did what any rational person would do.  I baked.  I figured I could kill two birds with one stone by distracting myself while simultaneously creating the material for my first post here.  Win Win!

IMG_0312

Doughnuts.  I love them.  They’re like little circles of joy.  There are no great donut shops in my immediate area, which is a sadness unto itself.  There are doughnuts aplenty in Brooklyn, but… well, traffic.  So, what does one do?  Bake them yourself.

I’ve been dying to make mashed potato doughnuts since probably around Thanksgiving, so I decided that yesterday was the day.  I was doing it and no one was going to stop me – not even my restless puppy who kept asking to come inside just so she could go back out.  I headed to the grocery store, got myself a big ‘ol sweet potato and got to work.  I mashed, mixed and baked my way to some pretty tasty donuts.

The batter was pretty thick and sticky, so they aren’t the most perfect looking donuts in the world, but I think it gives them character.  Besides, zombies are in no place to discriminate.

IMG_0313

Baked Maple Glazed Sweet Potato Doughnuts

(Adapted from Around My Family Table)

Ingredients:

{Makes approx. 8 full size doughnuts}

Donuts:

  • 6 Tbsp butter, softened
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 1 ½ cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 ¼ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • ½ cup mashed sweet potato

Glaze:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 2-3 tsp almond milk
  • Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Pierce sweet potato all over with a fork. Place it on a microwave safe plate and cover with a damp paper towel. Microwave for 7 minutes or until sweet potato is soft to the touch. Remove from microwave and let cool a bit. Then peel off the skin and discard. Mash the sweet potato with a fork and set aside ½ cup for your recipe. Store the rest for later… or to snack on while you bake.

Combine butter and sugar in a large bowl and mix well.

Add flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon – stir to combine. Then add the milk and mashed sweet potato and mix well.

Fill your doughnut pan and let bake for 15-20 minutes until top of donuts are golden and firm. Insert toothpick to make sure it comes out clean and remove pan from oven. Let donuts cool for 5-10 minutes, then remove from pan and place on a cooling rack.

{Tip: Fill a Ziplock bag with the batter, snip the tip, and use to fill the doughnut pan.}

While the doughnuts are cooling, make the glaze.

Combine powdered sugar and syrup in a small bowl and mix well. Add milk one teaspoon at a time until the glaze is thin, but not runny. Dip your doughnuts one at a time and place them back on your rack to set.  Glaze will harden fairly quickly.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Baked Maple Glazed Sweet Potato Doughnuts

Leave a Reply

