Brussels Sprouts & Bacon Pizza

image

Brussels sprouts.  There are a lot of mixed feelings on this little green veggie, most of which stem from having been force fed as a child.  As it turns out, neither one of my parents cared for them, so I didn’t have to suffer this trauma.  I had my first Brussels sprout at 32 when my now sister-in-law made them for Thanksgiving.  In the interest of full disclosure, they were roasted in bacon fat so they were hard not to love.

After that, I went through a pretty hardcore Brussels sprouts phase.  Not being a big veggie fan, I’ve discovered that I’ll eat most vegetables when they’re roasted.  I skipped the bacon fat, mainly because it seemed like too much trouble, and roasted them in good old olive oil instead. This was usually done when Hubs wasn’t home because he was one of the unfortunate traumatized children and can’t stand the smell, even though it still smelled plenty when he got home.

image

Like all phases, Brussels sprouts came and went.  I moved on to less stinky veggies, like zucchini and spaghetti squash.  My frozen pizza phase is the only one that has truly stood the test of time.  I love frozen pizza more than anyone ever should.  It’s my dirty little secret.  I’m not ashamed.

So speaking of pizza, I stumbled across a recipe for Brussels sprouts pizza with optional bacon.  Why anyone would make bacon option, I’ll never know.  I kid – I heart all you vegans out there.  Anyway, so Hubs was working last night and I thought that to be the perfect time to break out the Brussels and try this in a feeble attempt to eat healthy.  I tweaked it here and ended up with the most delicious, guilt-free meal.  For real, these ain’t your mama’s Brussels.

I loved it so much, I’m making it again tomorrow night.  Trust me, you’ll never look at Brussels sprouts the same way again.

image

Brussels Sprouts & Bacon Pizza

(adapted from Kitchen Treaty)

Ingredients:

  • 1 Flatout Wrap
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup reduced fat shredded mozzarella
  • 1/3 sweet onion, sliced
  • 1 cup shaved Brussels sprouts
  • 1-1 1/2 Tbsp Real Bacon Bits (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

In a small bowl, mix the olive oil with the minced garlic.

Place wrap on a baking sheet and brush the top with a little of the olive oil garlic mixture.

Spread onions out on wrap, then sprinkle with shredded mozzarella.

Toss Brussels with remaining olive oil and garlic.

Pile loosely to about 1/2 inch of the edge of the wrap.

Top pizza with crumbled bacon (omit if vegan).

Bake for 8 – 10 minutes until wrap is crisp around the edges, cheese is melted, and Brussels & onions are tender.

Cut into quarters and enjoy!

Leave a comment